I've always believed, and thus ruled, that a block doesn't count towards one of the three team hits. But in the FIVB Beach rules for 2015-2016, it says "14.4.1 A blocking contact is counted as a team hit. The blocking team will have only two more hits after a blocking contact". Did I download the wrong rules?
A block does not count as a touch so someone can tip it in a block and there will still be three hits left. How many times must the ball be touched before it goes over in volleyball? it only has to...
The block does not count as one of the three hits as long as the player's or players' hands were above the top of the net during the block. If their hands were not above the net, it is considered one of the three hits. After a legal block, the first hit can be taken by any player, including the player who just blocked the ball.
Rules of Beach Volleyball for Doubles and Triples: A blocking contact is counted as a team hit. The blocking team has two more contacts to return the ball after a blocking contact. Multiple blocking contacts made during a single blocking action are legal and only count as one team hit. In Reverse Coed, males may not participate in a block.
A block is NOT awarded on a touch! A blocking attempt in which a player blocks the ball out of bounds, does NOT result in a blocking error – that action counts as a kill for the opponent. A blocking error is a call made by an official that ends play. Check out the stats manual for the list of situations that constitute a blocking error.
Hits can be legal or illegal, depending on the situation. For example, a team can only hit the ball three times before it must go over the net to the opponent's side. A fourth hit is illegal. However, a block does not constitute a hit, so in that situation a team can block a shot and then hit it three more times.
So if the ball is coming over, and two different players jump up and both make contact with the ball, it is one block. This is important because block contacts are not counted as team hits. So after the block contact, if the ball stays on the blocker's side, the team still gets three hits. A blocker can reach over the net, but they are not allowed to interfere with an opponent's play.
In volleyball, blocking is when you deflect the ball delivered from the opposing team’s attacking hit. The main responsibility of a blocker is to block the ball back into the opposing team’s court. Think of it as playing goalie in soccer or hockey, you’re trying to keep the ball out by guarding your zone!